

Rhode Island Department of Human Services

Comprehensive Background Check Requirements

Revised 01/21/2020

Why Background Checks Matter

Rhode Island is required under federal law (CCDF¹) to implement comprehensive **state and federal criminal background checks and child abuse and neglect registry checks** for licensed child care programs. A comprehensive background check must include all of components (noted below) to be considered compliant with Rhode Island child care licensing and federal requirements.

Background checks are important to the safety of young children in child care. Background checks minimize the risk of harm to the health and wellbeing of children in care. The comprehensive background check includes state and national database research, including criminal and sex offender registries, to better protect Rhode Island's youngest citizens.

This resource provides information for the background check requirements for child care providers. If you have questions, please contact the Child Care Licensing Unit (CCLU) at 401-462-3009 or DHS.ChildCareLicensing@dhs.ri.gov.

Required Components of a Comprehensive Background Check

Rhode Island Child Abuse and Neglect Registry (and from other states of residence for past five (5) years) Rhode Island Criminal Background Check (and from other states of residence for past five (5) years)

Comprehensive Background Check Components

National Criminal Background Check

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)

Rhode Island Sex Offender Registry (and from other states of residence for past five (5) years)

National Sex Offender Registry
National Crime Information Center



Who should have a comprehensive background check?

- All adults living in a licensed group/family child care home
- All child care employees, owners, operators, administrators, education coordinators, site coordinator, parent coop employees, and substitutes
- Any adult who has unsupervised access to children in a licensed program

Where can I go to have a comprehensive background check completed?

Recommended Option for Comprehensive Requirements:

RI Office of the Attorney General Address: 4 Howard Ave., Cranston, RI

Phone: 401-274-4400

Hours: Monday – Friday; 8:30 AM – 4:00 PM

Payment: The fee is \$40.00 and can be made by credit or

debit card, check or money order.

http://riag.ri.gov/

RI Child Abuse and Neglect Registry Check: RI DCYF

Address: 101 Friendship St., Cranston, RI

Phone: 401-528-3500

Hours: Monday – Friday; 8:30 AM – 4:00 PM **Payment:** The CAN fee is \$10.00, and the required form must be completed to administer the check.

http://www.dcyf.ri.gov/

Additional Option for Comprehensive Requirements: Local or State Police Precincts

Please refer to local or state precinct websites for address, contact information, office hours, and payment information. Should you choose this option, **be sure to request all 4 components of the background check.**



PLEASE NOTE: A <u>Fingerprint Affidavit</u> must be completed and signed by the applicant and employer and presented at the time of fingerprint processing. This form can be found on the DHS website:

http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Documents%20Forms/FingerprintAffidavitDHS12.2019.pdf

For regulatory information regarding background check requirements, please reference:

Group and Family Child Care Home Regulations for Licensure 2.2.1.C/7.2.2.1.C

Center and School Age Program Regulations for Licensure 1.11.A