
 

 

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 
 

 

 

 

To: Interested Parties 

 
From: DHS Office of Policy Development 

Date: December 14, 2022 

Subject: Proposed Amendment to Child Care Assistance Program 

Rules and Regulations 
 

 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, the Department of Human Services is 

advertising the following proposed and amended DHS rules. This rule is being amended in 

compliance with state and federal law and good practice. 

 

RICR Title 218 – Rhode Island Department of Human Services 

Chapter 20 – Individual and Family Support Programs 

Part 4 – Child Care Assistance Program Rules and Regulations 

 

The proposed amendments are as follows: 

• § 4.2 (16) Added “families where the parent(s) are in enrolled in an Associate’s degree or 

Bachelor’s degree program at a Rhode Island public institution of higher education” 

• § 4.2 (19) Added definition of “college credit hours” and renumbered the section accordingly 

• § 4.2 (20)(z) Added language regarding Veteran’s Disability Pension payments 

• § 4.3 (A)(3) Removed “Beginning October 1, 2021”, added “As of July 1, 2022” and added 

“in an Associate’s degree or Bachelor’s degree program”  

• § 4.6.2(A)(4)(a) Removed “Beginning October 1, 2021” and added “Associate’s degree or 

Bachelor’s degree program” 

• § 4.6.2(A)(4)(b) Reformatted section 

• § 4.6.2(A)(4)(b)((2)) Added language allowing for a combination of CCAP for College and 

employment  

• § 4.6.2(A)(4)(c) Reformatted section and added language regarding the acceptable need for 

CCAP for College on a two parent home 

• § 4.6.2(A)(4)(d) Added language allowing for a combination of CCAP for College and 

employment 

• § 4.7.1(A) Added “at recertification” 

• § 4.8.2(A)(7), § 4.12.7(C), § 4.12.7(F) Changed “five (5 days)” to “two (2) consecutive 

weeks” and removed “per month” 

 

These proposed rules are accessible on the DHS website (http://www.dhs.ri.gov), the RI Secretary of 

State website (http://sos.ri.gov/ProposedRules/), and available in hard copy upon request (401-462-

3015 or RI Relay, dial 711.  Interested persons should submit data, views or written comments no 

later than 11:59pm on January 13, 2023  to Tara Borges, Office of Policy Development, Department 

of Human Services, Hazard Building, 1st floor, 74 West Road,  Cranston, RI 02920 or 

tara.borges@dhs.ri.gov.  

http://www.dhs.ri.gov/
http://sos.ri.gov/ProposedRules/
file://///dhs-fs-001/dhs/shared/DHS_Cranston/Policy/Tara%20Borges/CCAP/2022%20CCAP%20Amendment/PublicNotice.InterestedParties/tara.borges@dhs.ri.gov


 

In Accordance with RIGL 42-35-3, a public hearing will be granted if requested by twenty-five (25) 

persons, by an agency or by an association having at least twenty-five (25) members. A request for an 

oral hearing must be made within thirty (30) days of this notice (between December 14, 2022 and 

January 13, 2023.) 

 

The Department of Human Services does not discriminate against individuals based on race, color, 

national origin, sex, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, religious belief, political belief 

or handicap in acceptance for or provision of services or employment in its programs or activities. 


