

RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES STATE PLAN FOR TEMPORARY ASSISTANCE FOR NEEDY FAMILIES TITLE IV-A OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

Effective January 1, 2022

Daniel J. McKee, Governor Kimberly Brito, Interim Director

RHODE ISLAND STATE PLAN

BLOCK GRANT FOR TEMPORARY ASSISTANCE FOR NEEDY FAMILIES (TANF)

42 U.S.C. SEC. 402

a. Conduct a program designed to serve all political subdivisions in the State (not necessarily in a uniform manner) that provides assistance to needy families with (or expecting) children and provides parents with job preparation, work, and support services to enable them to leave the program, specifically cash assistance, and become self-sufficient (section 402(a)(1)(A)(i) of the Social Security Act)

The Rhode Island Department of Human Services (DHS) is the state agency responsible for administration of the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Block Grant. DHS is also responsible for implementation of the Rhode Island Works Act of 2008. Together, these federal and state programs provide essential services for low-income families throughout the State to assist them in meeting their basic family needs, while at the same time providing parents with a range of supports to help them prepare for and access the job market while achieving stabilization, as identified by the family.

In accord with the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA), the State of Rhode Island has developed its TANF State Plan based upon the four major purposes of TANF, which are to:

- Provide assistance to needy families so that children may be cared for in his or her own home or in the home of a relative;
- End dependence of needy parents on government benefits by promoting job preparation, work, and marriage;
- Prevent and reduce the incidence of out of wedlock pregnancies and establish annual numerical goals for preventing and reducing the incidence of these pregnancies; and
- Encourage the formation and maintenance of two-parent families

Rhode Island Works Program

The RI General Assembly revised the state TANF law in June 2008 (RIGL 40-5.2 et seq.). Entitled The Rhode Island Works Program, it was designed to help low-income families toward independence while at the same time improving the State's efforts to achieve the required TANF Work Participation Rates. Since 2008, the General Assembly has made several adjustments to the law. Recently there have been several revisions, the statutory changes were largely prompted by the ongoing work with the Whole Family Approach to Jobs initiative with Administration for Children and Families. Most notedly, Rhode Island has had several changes to the Rhode Island Works law including expanded the time limit from 24 months to 60 months, increasing the standard of assistance by thirty percent, adding an earning

disregard for newly employed recipients, increasing the resource limit, and discounting more earned income so families can retain more cash assistance.

Eligibility for RI Works/TANF Program:

A "family" is defined for the RI Works/TANF cash assistance program as (a) a pregnant woman from and including the seventh month of her pregnancy; and/or (b) a child and the following eligible persons living in the same household as the child: (A) each biological, adoptive or stepparent of the child, or in the absence of a parent, any adult relative who is responsible, in fact, for the care of such child, and (B) the child's minor siblings, whether of whole or half-blood: provided, however, that the term "family" shall not include any person receiving benefits under title XVI of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. 1381 et seq. A family may be the same as the Assistance Unit.

A low-income family includes a child under the age of 18, or under 19 if a full-time student, and family income is 225% of the federal poverty level or below.

An eligible family must meet age, relationship, citizenship/alienage, residency, and cooperation requirements, as well as remain within the income and resource limits of the program. As long as single parents and two (2) parent families meet income and resource limits of the program and are otherwise eligible, they qualify for cash assistance, child care, supplemental nutrition assistance program, and health care coverage.

Eligibility is limited to families whose available resources reduced by any obligations or debts with respect to such resources, total less than five thousand dollars (\$5,000). Eligibility is denied or terminated if the value of non-exempt resources exceeds the five-thousand-dollar limit. With regards to vehicle ownership, the State has chosen to exclude as a resource one (1) vehicle for each adult household member, not to exceed two (2) vehicles per household.

To determine eligibility for cash assistance, the total of a family's countable earned income, after an earned income disregard of the first \$300/month and one half the remainder of earnings, and unearned income is compared with the appropriate assistance payment standard for the unit. The payment standard is equal to the sum of the following:

- For the first person: four hundred twenty-five dollars (\$425) or three hundred sixty dollars (\$360) for a family residing in subsidized housing;
- For the second person: one hundred fifty-nine dollars (\$159)
- For the third person: one hundred thirty-seven dollars (\$137), and
- For each additional person: one hundred and four dollars (\$104) for each additional person.

If during an emergency the Departments deems it necessary, DHS household will receive a nonrecurrent short-term benefit, sometimes referred to as a NRST. This payment structure will not exceed four (4) months. The emergency benefit will be in accordance with 45 CFR §§ 260.31(b); 286.10(b).

Cooperation with the child support enforcement agency is required as a condition of eligibility for cash assistance.

To continue to be counted as a family member for the purpose of cash assistance, a child is allowed temporary absences from the home for no more than ninety (90) days per episode, with a second ninety (90) day renewal authorized only through supervisory approval. The program requires minor parents to live with a parent, relative, or in a supervised setting and remain in school, unless otherwise authorized by the Department for specific good cause reasons and the minor resides in an approved supervised supportive living arrangement.

Rhode Island Works Program Time Limit: The Rhode Island Works law (RIGL 40-5.2 et seq.) provides cash assistance a maximum of sixty (60) months.

Time limit begins with the first issuance of cash assistance. An applicant is required to sign an Employment Plan as a condition of eligibility for cash assistance. Some recipients are exempted from immediate work activities, such as parents who are waived under the Domestic Violence Waiver process. Time limit applies to families in which citizen children receive assistance although their non-citizen parents do not.

Exceptions to time limit applies in the instances of: (1) a minor child(ren) living with a single parent who receives SSI benefits, or with two-parents who both receive SSI benefits; and (2) a minor child(ren) living with a legally responsible non-parent caretaker relative who is not in the cash assistance payment.

Hardship Extension to Time Limit: Any individual approaching the time limit is notified that they may request a reassessment to determine whether or not they meet the criteria for an extension to time limit. Additionally, any parent who has met or exceeded the time limit may reapply and be assessed to determine if they meet any of the criteria for an extension beyond the time limit.

A parent who is undocumented, who has received benefits for their citizen child(ren), may request a hardship extension for the child(ren) at the time limit. A parent who does not meet the alienage requirements required for eligibility for cash assistance under federal PRWORA (e.g., those Legal Permanent Resident families in which the parent has been in the United States less than five (5) years), who has received benefits for her/his citizen child(ren), may also request a hardship extension for the child(ren).

A hardship extension may be granted to all otherwise eligible families who meet at least one of the following criteria:

- has a documented significant physical or mental incapacity and can verify/document a pending application for SSI or SSDI and has submitted an application for or is active and making progress in her/his Employment Plan with the Office of Rehabilitation Services (ORS); or
- is caring for a significantly disabled family member who resides in the home and requires full time care; or
- is homeless meaning a lack of a fixed and regular nighttime residence or a primary nighttime residence, such as a supervised shelter, a halfway house, a temporary residence, a temporary accommodation (e.g., hotel/motel), a residence of another for not more than ninety days, or a place not designed for regular sleeping accommodations (e.g., bus station); or
- is unable to pursue employment because of a current, documented domestic violence situation; or

• is unable to work because of a critical other condition or circumstance, other than citizenship or alienage status.

For TANF program purposes, families extended beyond sixty (60) months of TANF cash assistance under the categories listed above will be included in the federally-funded twenty percent (20%) hardship exceptions.

Public Involvement

Since passage of PRWORA in August 1996 and the implementation of Rhode Island's own welfare reform legislation in May 1997, RI DHS has maintained a strong and viable partnership with the initial Welfare Reform Implementation Task Force (WRITF). With the enacted Rhode Island Works Program, the WRITF group is now known as the Rhode Island Works Advisory Committee. The membership consists of representatives of state agencies, anti-poverty organizations, and community-based organizations that are committed to assisting the State and the Department in efforts to deliver an effective program for low-income families.

As defined by the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) and HHS Administration for Children and Families TANF State Plan requirements, draft rules on the RI Works Program were published on December 6, 2018, comments were formally heard and submitted to the Department for consideration by December 19, 2018. The Department has used the promulgation period to inform and support updates to the TANF State Plan.

The Rhode Island Works Program Advisory Committee has met bimonthly and receives data reports, reviews and comments on policy and regulations, and offers recommendations to the Director on best practices and effective solutions to challenges and opportunities facing the State of Rhode Island.

Through both the formal public hearing process as well as the ongoing advisory committee meetings, the State of Rhode Island continues its commitment of transparency and openness with regard to its public assistance programs. The Department will continue to work closely with the community to ensure continuous improvement in our progress toward helping families out of poverty.

b. Require a parent or caretaker receiving assistance to engage in work (defined by the State) once the State determines the parent or caretaker is ready to engage in work, or once he or she has received 24 months of assistance, whichever is earlier, consistent with the child care exception at 407(e)(2) (section 402(a)(1)(A)(ii) of the Social Security Act)

1. Work Requirements and Participation Requirements under RI Works Program

All parents and caretaker relatives, including those who are acting in loco parentis, if they are included in the cash assistance grant, who request and receive assistance are required to enter into an employment plan and participate, unless temporarily exempt, in DHS-approved work-related activities. Employment plans are required prior to eligibility being granted to recipients, unless the adult recipient is exempted, an SSI recipient, or a non-requesting member of the households, also called child only.

2. One Parent Family Requirements

Single parents shall participate for a minimum of twenty (20) hours per week for parents whose youngest child in the home is under the age of six (6), and for a minimum of thirty (30) hours per week for parents whose youngest child in the home is six (6) years of age or older, in one or more of the following work activities, as appropriate, in order to help the parent obtain stable full-time living wage employment. For teen parents, the first activity must be secondary education or completion of a GED program, if either certificate has not yet been obtained.

Core Activity Opportunities for One Parent Families:

- Unsubsidized employment;
- Subsidized private sector employment;
- Subsidized public sector employment;
- Work experience. A parent participating in a work experience or community service program for the maximum number of hours per week allowable by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) will be considered to have met their required twenty (20) core hours if actual participation falls short of the required minimum hours per week. For parents whose youngest child is six (6) or more years old and whose required minimum hours per week are thirty (30), any hours permissible by FLSA that are short of thirty (30) hours must be satisfied in some other TANF work activity;
- On-the-job training;
- Job search and job readiness. Except in the context of supportive service employment plans, job search and job readiness activities are limited to 4 consecutive weeks, or for a total of 6 weeks in a twelve-month period. The DHS shall extend job search and job readiness assistance for up to twelve (12) weeks in a fiscal year if RI has an unemployment rate at least fifty percent (50%) greater than the United States federal unemployment rate, or if the state meets the definition of a needy state under the contingency fund provisions of federal law;
- Community Service;
- Vocational educational training not to exceed twelve (12) months. Participation in a two-year degree program, a vocational certificate program, or a BA degree or advanced degree program may count as vocational educational training. Those participants who are in programs longer than twelve (12) months may use this activity as counting toward participation in a non-core job skills training, if they meet the requirement for a different core activity for sufficient hours. All supervised homework plus up to one hour of unsupervised homework per each hour of class time may count as meeting part of the total hours required for compliance with the RI Works employment plan. However, total homework time cannot exceed the hours required or advised in writing by the educational program;
- Adult education in an intensive work readiness program;
- Child care for an individual participating in a community service program.

Non-core Activity Opportunities for One Parent Families:

- Job skills training directly related to employment, allowable in addition to participation for twenty (20) hours per week in one of the above core activities;
- Education directly related to employment, allowable in addition to participation for twenty (20) hours per week in one of the above core activities;

• Satisfactory attendance at a secondary school or in a course of study leading to a GED. In the case of a parent under the age of 20, such satisfactory attendance in secondary school or in a GED program is countable as a core activity.

Other Required Work Activity Opportunities for One Parent Families:

• Up to ten (10) hours of activities as defined in a DCYF service plan may substitute for meeting an equivalent number of hours toward the twenty (20) hour requirement for parents with a child under age six (6), or for an equivalent number of hours toward the thirty (30) hour requirement for parents whose youngest child is age six (6) or older. The DCYF Social Caseworker II and/or vendor provides the actual number of hours of participation per week required in order for the parent to comply with their service plan. The DHS worker then makes these hours part of the total hours required for compliance with the RI Works employment plan.

Temporary Exemption for Single Parents

Work requirements outlined above shall not apply to a single parent if, and for so long as, the Department finds that they are:

- Caring for a child below the age of one, provided that a parent may opt for deferral for a maximum of twelve (12) months during a 60 month period of eligibility for cash assistance, but noting that a minor parent without a high school diploma or the equivalent, shall not be exempt for more than twelve (12) weeks from the birth of the child;
- Caring for a child or family member with a significant documented disability who resides in the home and requires full-time care;
- A recipient of SSI or RSDI/SSDI or other disability benefit that has the same standards of disability as defined by the Social Security Administration;
- An RIW applicant or recipient who has completed an application for SSI or SSDI who has been determined by a designated DHS vendor to be likely to become eligible for SSI or SSDI;
- An individual receiving assistance who is a victim of domestic violence;
- An applicant for assistance in her third trimester of pregnancy or a pregnant woman in her third trimester who is a recipient of assistance and who has medical documentation that she cannot work.

3. Two Parent Family Requirements

In families consisting of two parents, one parent is required and shall be engaged in work activities as defined below, for at least thirty-five (35) hours per week during the month, not fewer than thirty (30) hours per week of which are attributable to one or more of the following listed work activities. Two parent work requirements shall be defined as follows:

Core Activity Opportunities for Two-Parent Families:

- Unsubsidized employment;
- Subsidized private sector employment;
- Subsidized public sector employment;

- Work experience;
- On-the-job training;
- Job search and job readiness. Except in the context of supportive service employment plans, job search and job readiness activities are limited to 4 consecutive weeks, or for a total of 6 weeks in a twelve-month period. The DHS shall extend job search and job readiness assistance for up to twelve (12) weeks in a fiscal year if RI has an unemployment rate at least fifty percent (50%) greater than the United States federal unemployment rate, or if the state meets the definition of a needy state under the contingency fund provisions of federal law;
- Community Service program;
- Vocational educational training not to exceed twelve (12) months;
- The provision of childcare services to a participant individual who is participating in a community service program;
- Adult education in an intensive work readiness program.

Above thirty (30) hours per week, the following three (3) activities may also count for participation:

Non-Core Activity Opportunities for Two-Parent Families:

- Job skills training directly related to employment;
- Education directly related to employment; and
- Satisfactory attendance at secondary school or in a course of study leading to a certificate of general equivalence. Satisfactory attendance in secondary school or in a GED program is countable as a core activity in the case of a parent who is married and is under twenty (20) years old.

Other Required Work Activities for Two-Parent Families:

- Up to ten (10) hours of activities as defined in a DCYF service plan may substitute for meeting an equivalent number of hours toward the thirty-five (35) hour requirement. The DCYF Social Caseworker II and/or vendor provides the actual number of hours of participation per week required in order for the parent to comply with their service plan. The DHS worker then makes these hours part of the total hours required for compliance with the RI Works employment plan.
- Housing search, if the family is homeless (or about to become homeless), may be approved for the second parent in a two-parent family, if the first parent is participating in a core activity at least thirty (30) hours per week. This activity may be approved for the first parent, if the second parent receives SSI/RSDI/SSDI. Housing search is classified as job readiness, which is a core activity.

In a two-parent family in which one (1) parent is engaged for at least thirty-five (35) hours per week in the work activities specified above, the other, second, parent may also participate in and have an assessment completed. The second parent must then sign an employment plan.

A family with two parents, whether or not receiving child care, in which one or both parents participate in a work experience or community service program for the maximum number of hours per week allowable by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) will be considered to have met their required thirty (30) core hours if actual participation falls short of the required minimum hours per week. For families that need additional hours beyond the core activity requirement, these hours must be satisfied in some other TANF work activity.

Except in the instance of a work experience or community service program which must meet the requirements of the FLSA as described above, if the family receives child care assistance and an adult in the family is not disabled or caring for a severely disabled child, then the work-eligible individuals must be participating in work activities for an average of at least fifty-five (55) hours per week to count as a two-parent family engaged in work for the month. At least fifty (50) of the fifty-five (55) hours per week must come from participation in the activities listed in the Core Activities above. Above fifty (50) hours per week, the three (3) activities listed in Non-Core Activities above may also count as participation.

Teen Two-Parent Family Requirements

In a two-parent household in which both parents are under age twenty (20), the DHS worker should assess the educational history of both parents. For either parent who has not completed high school or obtained a GED, as a first activity in the RI Works program, the DHS worker should approve and enter an employment plan for that parent; or for both parents if neither have the high school diploma or GED; that shows full time attendance in secondary education or completion of a GED program as the first activity. When both have either reached the age of twenty (20) or completed the first activity of education as described above, all two parent family rules will come into full force and effect.

Exemptions for Two-Parent Families

The work requirements shall not apply if, and for so long as, the Department finds that:

- both parents receive Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI); or
- both parents have completed applications for SSI or SSDI and both have been determined by a designated DHS vendor to be likely to become eligible for SSI or SSDI; or
- one parent is caring for a child or family member with a significant documented disability who
 resides in the home, and who requires full time care and the other parent receives
 SSI/RSDI/SSDI and is medically documented to be unable to provide care for the disabled family
 member.
- c. Ensure that parents and caretakers receiving assistance engage in work in accordance with section 407 (section 402(a)(1)(A)(iii) of the Social Security Act). Consistent with the required strategic elements discussed in section II (a)(2) herein, provide a specific analysis of how the State's workforce development activities are addressing employment and training services for parents or caretakers receiving assistance

How Workforce Activities Address Employment and Training Services

RI Works employment plans are comprised of a component and several activities associated with each component. Each activity is centered around building up the participant, providing coaching, long term goal setting, and barrier mitigation on that recipient's pathway to a more stable future. Every employment plan is comprised of at least one component and one activity. All activities are focused on engaging that family with holistic services to provide a change in their family's pathway to self-

sufficiency. The five components in RI are organized to be step system to provide services for families so they can access training and work preparation. These components include: Supportive Services to help stabilize families in crisis with the goal of long term self-sufficiency; Teen and Family Development provides education services for parents under 20 year of age; Adult Education so parents can enter training or workforce services that have minimum education requirements; Vocational Training to provide specific trainings for parents in fields that are seeking employees; and Work Readiness which provides work experience and interview skills with a job search focus.

Non-Compliance with Work Requirements

All parents and caretaker relatives not specifically exempted are required to participate in an employment plan and appropriate activities. Failure to do so may result in a penalty, if good cause is not provided for the non-participation. Current policy states: During the first three (3) months of noncompliance with work requirements, the amount of cash assistance to which an otherwise eligible family is entitled shall be reduced by the portion of the family's benefit attributable to a parent who, without good cause, has failed to enter into an individual employment plan or has failed to comply with his or her individual employment plan; provided that the reduction shall be applied during the first three (3) months, whether or not consecutive, of such failure or non-compliance by the parent. For a family size of two (2), the benefit reduction due to noncompliance with the employment plan shall be computed utilizing a family size of three (3), in which the parent's portion equals one hundred thirty-seven dollars (\$137).

After three (3) months of noncompliance, the Department shall terminate cash assistance to a family if any parent in the family has failed, without good cause, to enter into an individual employment plan, or to comply with his or her individual employment plan and has been penalized for three (3) months, whether or not consecutive.

The penalty becomes effective on the next payroll date after the adverse action period. The participant is notified of the penalty by a system-generated notice.

If the family's benefit has been reduced for less than three (3) months, whether or not consecutive, due to the parent's failure to enter into an individual employment plan or failure to comply with the terms of his or her individual employment plan, benefits shall be restored to the full amount beginning with the initial payment made on the first of the month following the month in which the parent (1) enters into an individual employment plan and demonstrates compliance with the terms thereof, or (2) demonstrates compliance with the terms of his or her existing individual employment plan, as such plan may be amended by agreement of the parent and the Department.

If the family's benefit has been terminated due to the failure by one or more parents to enter into an individual employment plan or failure to comply with the terms of his or her individual employment plan and has been penalized for three (3) months, the family may re-apply for benefits and benefits shall be restored to the family in the full amount the family is otherwise entitled to under this chapter beginning on the first of the month following the month in which all parents in the family who are subject to the employment plan requirements (1) enter into an individual employment plan and demonstrate compliance with the terms thereof, or (2) demonstrate compliance with the terms of his or her existing individual employment plan, as such plan may be amended by agreement of the parent and the Department, i.e., the parent must sign a new Employment Plan, demonstrate compliance with the Plan

for at least two (2) weeks, and continue to participate, for the penalty to be considered cured and the case accepted beginning with the first of the month following the month that she or he began to comply.

d. Take such reasonable steps as the State deems necessary to restrict the use and disclosure of information about individuals and families receiving assistance under the program attributable to funds provided by the Federal Government (section 402(a)(1)(A)(iv) of the Social Security Act)

In accordance with the General Laws of Rhode Island 40-6-12 all records pertaining to the administration of public assistance are declared to constitute confidential matter. It is unlawful for any person to make use of, or cause to be used, any information contained in these records for purposes not directly connected with program administration, except with the consent of the individual concerned. Any person violating any provisions of this state law, or the lawful rules and regulations made there under will be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and fined not less than two hundred dollars (\$200) or will be imprisoned for not more than six (6) months or both.

e. Establish goals and take action to prevent and reduce out-of-wedlock pregnancies, with special emphasis on teenage pregnancies (section 402(a)(1)(A)(v) of the Social Security Act)

1. Rhode Island's Comprehensive Statewide Teen Pregnancy Prevention Plan

DHS had an active role in a formal partnership with the RI Department of Health (RIDOH), Department of Education, the Department for Children, Youth and Families, and several community-based organizations, the partnership was originally formed to address the complex issues of teenage pregnancy and to develop Rhode Island's Comprehensive Statewide Teen Pregnancy Prevention Plan. The Plan lead by RIDOH, which was completed in June 1999 and revised in 2004, was based on research findings, results of community forums, and professional expertise in teenage pregnancy prevention. The Plan contained information on federal and state funding sources, programs that educate at-risk teens, programs that provide pregnancy prevention education, a review of current literature pertaining to this topic, state level initiatives and financial resources for teach training.

That prevention plan was the basis for the collaboration between DHS and RIDOH for the Youth Success program, now called Teen and Family Development (TFD). TFD has been a collaborative effort with both RIDOH and DHS vendors meeting regularly to ensure that both TFD and Medical eligible youth are being educated about the programs in both DHS and RIDOH. A cross referral for these programs ensures that young parents are aware of programs and able to access RI Works. Additionally, RI Works vendors are conducting pregnancy prevention outreach as well as intensive services for "at risk" youth.

The Department also contracts with additional Community Based Organizations to provide teen services across the State. These contracts have a targeted focus of supporting efforts to prevent teen pregnancy

and serve pregnant and parenting teens. Provide pregnancy prevention, career exploration or goal setting, financial literacy, and leadership skills to RI youth.

2. Youth Responsibility and the Adolescent Self-Sufficiency Collaborative became the Teen and Family Prevention

Since April 1, 2009, the Department began contracting with an association of nine (9) community-based organizations to provide an intervention program for at-risk and pregnant/parenting populations, formerly called the Youth Success Program, now called Teen and Family Development (TFD). All contracted organizations had either their own educational (GED) program or access to each other's programs, should a teen not remain in high school, which is the primary educational goal. Academic instruction focused on a high school diploma or its equivalent, pregnancy prevention education, skills development, service learning, and career exploration/work experience. The TFD program provided case management services, ensures health and dental care needs are met, improves teen character development and increases life skills, especially academic and parenting skills. Substance abuse services, domestic abuse/trauma services, mental health services and coordination with the Office of Child Support Services are all present in-house in these nine-member agencies.

The Family Needs Assessment used by TFD is in compliance with the ACF's Teen Parent Responsibility Plan. As partner agencies may also operate Early Head Start, Head Start and licensed child care centers, participating youth receive priority for Head Start and child care services when appropriate. Further, as three of these agencies are regional leads in the Family Care Community Partnership (FCCP) operated by RI's Department of Children, Youth and Families, outreach is coordinated with the FCCP to reduce instances of teen pregnancy. An example of this Department's partnership with the FCCP and with the RI Department of Health (RIDOH) is the joint effort to add resources to the Nurse-Family Partnership Program and other Family Visiting Programs by RIDOH. Using strategies scientifically proven effective to reduce initial and repeat pregnancy, the TFD works with teens, individually or in groups, in schools, in community sites, and/or in the teens' own homes. The TFD also tracks, monitors, and reports to DHS each pregnant and parenting teen's school attendance and works to resolve issues of non-compliance with DHS requirements, such as attending school.

Minor parents are required to live at home with their parents, with a relative, or a legal guardian in order to be eligible for cash assistance through the RI Works Program. Unless otherwise authorized, the cash assistance is issued to the parent, relative, or the legal guardian on behalf of the minor parent. When there is good cause for a minor parent to live outside the allowable living arrangements above, and there is no suitable relative or legal guardian, the minor parent must live in an adult-supervised supportive living arrangement which ensures regular adult supervision and which requires the minor parent to participate in secondary education and the TFD program.

As of March 2018, Youth Success was renamed to Teen and Family Development (TFD). TFD is now part of the performance-based contracts for vendors overseeing RI Works activities. Two prime vendors are contracted for TFD. The previous principles and standards for Youth Success are largely the same for TFD. Both vendors are working cooperatively with the RI Department of Health (RIDOH), to continue a close partnership with the Nurse Family Partnership and other family visiting programs. Joint meetings are held between RIDOH, DHS, and all vendors to ensure coordinated services for this population.

3. New Opportunity Homes

New Opportunity Homes (NOH) is a key component of DHS's teen and young adult programs. The New Opportunity Homes are supervised living arrangements which offer an alternative option for pregnant and parenting RI Works Program applicants/recipients who are unable to remain at home with their own parents or guardians. New Opportunity Homes provide young adults with a positive environment that is safe and nurturing. A multi-disciplinary team reviews prospective residents to determine the appropriateness of a NOH, using screening criteria and assessments to assure that participant's needs may be met by a NOH. Moreover, each resident is assigned a case manager. Together, the NOH and the case management agency offer each resident educational supports and opportunities to develop social and life skills, including parenting skills, necessary to become positive parents and self-sufficient, productive adults.

f. Conduct a program designed to reach State and local law enforcement officials, the education system, and relevant counseling services, that provides education and training on the problem of statutory rape so that teenage pregnancy prevention programs may be expanded to include men (section 402(a)(1)(A)(vi) of the Social Security Act)

Rhode Island's Comprehensive Statewide Teen Pregnancy Prevention Plan has recommended that "Rhode Island should clarify, communicate, enforce and strengthen existing statutory rape and child molestation laws." A collaborative effort has therefore developed between each Teen and Family Development (TFD), and the DHS funded Domestic Violence Prevention program which provides education and training on the problems of statutory rape and child molestation to state and local law enforcement officials, educators, and adolescent counselors, all of whom are required to notify the RI Department of Children, Youth and Families when sexual abuse of a child is suspected. The TFD Program outreaches fathers in an effort not only to establish paternity and child support, but to encourage them to maintain an emotional relationship with their child. TFD is open to all eligible participants, regardless of sex, so that the recipient can receive specific services aimed to maximize services to younger RI Works recipients. DHS works with the Office of Child Support Services that provides services to non-custodial parents to seek work training opportunities and other resources such as counseling, if needed.

g. Implement policies and procedures as necessary to prevent access to assistance provided under the State program funded under this part through any electronic fund transaction in an automated teller machine or point-of-sale device located in a place described in section 408(a)(12), including a plan to ensure that recipients of the assistance have adequate access to their cash assistance (section 402(a)(1)(A)(vii) of the Social Security Act)

RI's EBT Restrictions

Pursuant to Section 4004 of Public Law 112-96, it is prohibited for a TANF recipient to use their TANF cash assistance benefits received under RI Works, Rhode Island General Laws 40-5.2 et seq., in any electronic benefit transfer transaction (EBT) in:

- any liquor store;
- any casino, gambling casino, or gaming establishment; or
- any retail establishment which provides adult-oriented entertainment in which performers disrobe or perform in an unclothed state for entertainment.

DEFINITIONS - For purposes of above:

LIQUOR STORE- The term 'liquor store' means any retail establishment which sells exclusively or primarily intoxicating liquor. Such term does not include a grocery store which sells both intoxicating liquor and groceries including staple foods (within the meaning of section 3(r) of the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008 (7 U.S.C. 2012(r))).

CASINO, GAMBLING CASINO, OR GAMING ESTABLISHMENT- The terms 'casino', 'gambling casino', and 'gaming establishment' do not include:

- a grocery store which sells groceries including such staple foods and which also offers, or is located within the same building or complex as, casino, gambling, or gaming activities; or
- any other establishment that offers casino, gambling, or gaming activities incidental to the principal purpose of the business.

It is illegal to withdraw TANF benefits from an ATM located in one of the prohibited locations, or to use TANF benefits at a point of sale (POS) terminal located in a prohibited location.

Rhode Island will compile a report of the EBT restricted transaction quarterly. Any person receiving cash assistance through the RI Works program who uses an EBT card in violation shall be subject to the following penalties:

- For the first violation, the household will be sent a warning that a prohibited transaction occurred;
- For the second violation, the household will be charged a penalty in the amount of the EBT transaction that occurred at the prohibited location;
- For the third and all subsequent violations, the household will be charged a penalty in the amount of the EBT transaction that occurred at the prohibited location AND for the month following the month of infraction, the amount of cash assistance to which an otherwise eligible recipient family is entitled shall be reduced by the portion of the family's benefit attributable to any parent who utilized the EBT card in a restricted location. For a family size of two (2), the benefit reduction due to noncompliance with use of EBT at a restricted location shall be computed utilizing a family size of three (3), in which the parent's portion equals one hundred thirty-seven dollars (\$137).

If an individual believes that the intended action regarding usage of EBT cash at restricted locations is incorrect, they may request a hearing before the Executive Office of Human Services Hearing Officer within thirty (30) days of the mailing of the notice of adverse action. The individual may request that benefits be continued pending the outcome of the hearing if the request is made within ten (10) days of the mailing of the notice.

Adequate Access to Cash Assistance

Recipients, and authorized payees, access EBT cash benefits by using a plastic Rhode Island EBT card and their personal identification number (PIN). The RI EBT system provides access to cash benefits at bank, credit union, and retail store automated teller machines (ATMs). Some retail establishments also provide access to cash accounts at point-of-sale (POS) terminals which display the QUEST logo. This service is called a cash back transaction and policies on its availability and limits on the amount of cash dispensed are set by the individual store. The EBT card can be used in RI and nationwide at participating ATMs and point-of-sale (POS) devices. Any location that uses the NYCE or QUEST logo will allow for EBT card usage. There are over 900 POS locations statewide alone, these locations are in every city and town in Rhode Island.

h. Ensure that recipients of assistance provided under the State program funded under this part have the ability to use or withdraw assistance with minimal fees or charges, including an opportunity to access assistance with no fee or charges, and are provided information on applicable fees and surcharges that apply to electronic fund transactions involving the assistance, and that such information is made publicly available (section 402(a)(1)(A)(viii) of the Social Security Act)

The term 'electronic benefit transfer transaction' means the use of a credit or debit card service, automated teller machine, point-of-sale terminal, or access to an online system for the withdrawal of funds or the processing of a payment for merchandise or a service. Payment of RI Works Program cash benefits through an electronic benefit transfer (EBT) system is authorized by RIGL. 40-5.2-31. Cash benefits are credited to an EBT account in the recipient's name on the first and sixteenth of the month including weekends and holidays.

Recipients, and authorized payees, access EBT cash benefits by using a plastic Rhode Island EBT card and their personal identification number (PIN). The RI EBT system provides access to cash benefits at bank, credit union, and retail store automated teller machines (ATMs). Some retail establishments also provide access to cash accounts at point-of-sale (POS) terminals which display the QUEST logo. This service is called a cash back transaction and policies on its availability and limits on the amount of cash dispensed are set by the individual store. The EBT card can be used in RI and nationwide at participating ATMs and point-of-sale (POS) devices. Any location that uses the NYCE or QUEST logo will allow for EBT card usage. There are over 900 POS locations statewide alone, these locations are in every city and town in Rhode Island.

Each month, recipients can make a total of two (2) free cash withdrawals from ATMs. For each additional ATM cash withdrawal in the month, a fee of two dollars is charged. The fee is automatically

deducted from the recipient's cash benefit account. No fee is charged when cash benefits are accessed at POS terminals.

RI EBT cards are issued via mail, or under certain circumstances issued in a DHS field office using special card printing. Cardholders must report lost, stolen, or damaged RI EBT cards to the Customer Service Help Line at 1-888-979-9939. A Customer Service Representative invalidates the card thereby protecting the unused benefit amounts. If someone uses the card before its status has been changed, the benefits cannot be replaced. No fee is charged for the replacement of any lost, stolen, or damaged RI EBT card. Cardholders may request a new card by contacting the local DHS office and completing a DHS EBT-10, EBT Replacement Form. Replacement RI EBT cards are mailed by noon the next business day after the authorization file has been successfully transmitted.

Fees And Surcharges for EBT Transactions

The following verbiage is on the EBT usage brochure provided to RI Works clients and available at all DHS field offices:

There is never a transaction fee for using your Cash Benefits to get cash at a POS machine. At ATMS, after your second cash withdrawal in a month, a two dollar transaction fee is automatically taken out of your Cash account each time you withdraw cash. A surcharge is an additional fee that can be charged by the owner of an ATM or POS for using that machine. Surcharges will be taken from your account automatically. If you do not want to pay the surcharge, cancel the transaction and go to another ATM or POS location that does not charge a surcharge.

DHS Website

In addition, the RI Works policy, including EBT information on fees and surcharges is located on the DHs website: https://dhs.ri.gov/programs-and-services/supplemental-nutrition-assistance-program-snap/supplemental-nutrition-2 and the RI Secretary of State website at: rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/218-20-00-2.

i. Indicate whether it intends to treat families moving from another State differently from other families under the program, and if so how (section 402(a)(1)(B)(i) of the Social Security Act)

The State of Rhode Island does not intend to treat families moving into the state differently than established residents.

j. Indicate whether it intends to provide assistance to non-citizens, and if so include an overview of the assistance (section 402(a)(1)(B)(ii) of the Social Security Act)

The RI Works Program has adopted the provisions in section 402 (b) of PRWORA with regard to legal non-citizens. This requirement to comply with PRWORA will remain in effect according to all applicable changes made to the federal law, as that Act may hereafter be amended. Legal non-citizens must meet income and resource criteria including their sponsor's income and resources. Such individuals will be eligible for cash assistance at the same levels and under the same rules as citizens. In order to be eligible, the non-citizen must be:

- A qualified non-citizen who entered the U.S. prior to 8/22/96; or
- A qualified non-citizen who entered the country on or after 8/22/96 and is exempt from the five (5) year ban as defined below; or
- After the five (5) year ban, a qualified non-citizen who entered the U.S. on or after 8/22/96.

Qualified non-citizens who are exempt from the five (5) year ban include:

- Refugees, under section 207 of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA);
- Asylees, under section 208 of the INA;
- Amerasian entrants as defined under section 584 of the Foreign Operations, Export Financing and Related Programs Appropriations Act of 1988;
- Cuban or Haitian entrants under section 501 (e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980;
- Lawfully residing honorably-discharged veterans (except one discharged for reasons of immigration status), and the non-remarried widow or widower of the veteran;
- Non-citizens on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces, their lawfully residing spouses and unmarried dependent children;
- Battered victims with a petition pending under 204 (a) (1) (A) or (B), or 244 (a) (3) of the INA; or
- Victims of human trafficking in accordance with section 107 (b) of the Victims of Trafficking and Violence Protection Act of 2000.

Qualified non-citizens who entered the U.S. on or after 8/22/96, who are subject to the five (5) year ban include:

- Lawful permanent residents (LPR)
- Parolees for at least one (1) year under 212 (d) (5) of the INA
- Conditional entrants under 203 (a) (7) of immigration law in effect before 4/1/80
- Certain American Indians born outside the U.S.

A person who is not a United States citizen and does not meet the alienage requirements established in PRWORA, as amended, is not eligible for cash assistance. Those applicants who are ineligible include undocumented and/or illegal immigrants and persons documented as temporary visitors.

k. Set forth objective criteria for the delivery of benefits and the determination of eligibility and for fair and equitable treatment, including an explanation of how it will provide opportunities for recipients who have been adversely affected to be heard in a State administrative or appeal process (section 402(a)(1)(B)(iii) of the Social Security Act)

Rhode Island provides an objective process for the delivery of benefits and the determination of eligibility, for fair and equitable treatment, and for complaints and an appeals process for those recipients that have been adversely affected. Specific details pertaining to the policy and procedures are contained in Rhode Island DHS Manual Sections Civil Rights Compliance and Complaints and Hearings.

Furthermore, a parent or caretaker who requests assistance for a child shall meet or speak with an agency representative as soon as possible and no later than five (5) days from the date of request for assistance. The application for assistance shall be accepted or denied by the Department no later than thirty (30) days following the date of application.

A family found by the Department to meet the eligibility criteria shall be entitled to receive cash assistance from the date of submitting a signed application. The family members shall be eligible for cash assistance for so long as they continue to meet the eligibility criteria and parents shall be eligible so long as they meet the terms and conditions of the work requirements.

Any applicant or recipient aggrieved because of a decision by the Department, including but not limited to, a decision regarding eligibility for benefits, the amount of benefits, terms of an Employment Plan or a delay in making a decision with respect to an application for assistance shall be entitled to an appeal. The Department shall provide an applicant with written notice of a decision to deny benefits and shall provide recipients written notice at least ten (10) days in advance of a decision to terminate or reduce benefits to the family. Notices shall be in easy to understand language and shall explain the reason for the Department's decision and cite the relevant section of the Department's regulations. The family may appeal the decision by filing a written request with the Department within thirty (30) days of the date the notice was mailed. If the recipient files the request within ten (10) days of the date the notice was mailed, the recipient may receive benefits without reduction pending the outcome of the appeal. Hearings with respect to public assistance shall be conducted by the Department.

I. Indicate whether the State intends to assist individuals to train for, seek, and maintain employment (Section 402(a)(1)(B)(v) of the Social Security Act)—

- 1. Providing direct care in a long-term care facility (as such terms are defined under section 1397j of this title); or
- 2. In other occupations related to elder care, high-demand occupations, or occupations expected to experience labor shortages as, determined appropriate by the State for which the State identifies an unmet need for service personnel, and, if so, shall include an overview of such assistance.

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 added a provision to the Social Security Act requiring each state to indicate its intention to assist individuals in training for, seeking and maintaining employment in the eldercare workforce. Rhode Island notes its status as one of the most elder-populated states (proportionately) in the country, and has been proactive historically in ensuring our TANF recipients are prepared to work effectively in this field which serves 16.8% of the state's population (2017 census). The current national average is that the elderly represents 15.6% of the US population, and this proportion will increase both nationally and in Rhode Island, per the Administration on Aging. It is predicted that, in 2030, elderly persons will be 19.7% of the national population, and 21.4% of Rhode Island's population.

Vocational trainings, which the Department supports for TANF recipients who choose them, in the areas of Healthcare Exploration, Homemaker, Certified Nursing Assistant and Medical Assistant are provided by multiple agencies in Rhode Island. These agencies have incorporated much material devoted to preparation for work with the elderly.

m. Provide for all MOE-funded services the following information: the name of the program benefit or service, and the financial eligibility criteria that families must meet in order to receive that benefit or service. In addition, for TANF MOE-funded services (co-mingled or segregated MOE) describe the program benefit provided to eligible families (SSP services do not have to include a description but the Department of Health and Human Services encourages it) (§263.2(b)(3) & §263.2(c) preamble pages 17826-7)

The State of Rhode Island expends funds to administer and support a range of benefits and services to assist low income needy children and families. For purposes of Rhode Island's TANF State Plan, the definition of low-income needy family means a family which includes a dependent child(ren) under age 18, or 19 if full-time student, and a parent/caretaker relative with a gross household income level which is at or below 225% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL). While it is recognized that income and resource limits may differ somewhat from program to program, in order to receive benefits or services through programs described in this section of the R. I. TANF State Plan, a family must meet this state's definition of low income.

The following outlines benefits and services which are funded as either a separate State Program and meets one or more of the four purposes of TANF and thus qualify as state maintenance of effort (MOE) expenditures, claimable under TANF regulations.

1. Separate State Programs:

- Child Care Assistance for both cash assistance and non-cash low income working families

 Child care subsidies are provided to active RI Works parents engaged in approved activities and for all low income working families engaged in employment for 20 or more hours per week, as well as low income youth enrolled with the Teen and Family Development program who are completing their high school diploma or GED with employment plans for at least 20 hours/week. Current eligibility criteria for non-cash assistance parents who meet the income criteria are outlined in Rhode Island's Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) State Plan. Child Care Assistance ends dependence of needy families on government benefits by promoting job preparation and supporting working families. <u>Consistent with TANF Purpose 2</u>.
- State funded Head Start Services for low-income children who are not able to be served through federally funded Head Start Programs State-funded head start is a means tested program and accepts only those families who are determined low income needy as defined above. Children between 3 and 4 years of age benefit by school readiness programs and parent involvement which is required by all families and these parents gain information about adult education, job skills training and work opportunities, thus improving their ability to become economically independent. <u>Consistent with TANF Purposes 1, 2, 3, 4</u>.
- Emergency Assistance and residential services for vulnerable youth, through the RI Department of Children, Youth and Families - Emergency Assistance (EA) as allowed under prior law with direct TANF funding. supports the maintenance of services for those families who would have qualified for EA under the prior program as described in Rhode Island's State Plan in 1995. Services are provided to children who are victims of abuse and/or neglect, or at risk of abuse and neglect. EA is used for TANF MOE only to the extent that State-only dollars are expended to support the range of family intervention, counseling and case management services provided. Separately, state-funded residential services through DCYF, for those with active reunification plans, also provide a safe temporary environment for children as families seek stability. In such circumstances, children may not be absent from the home for more than 180 days even if reunification plans are maintained. These expenditures are not matched with any other federal or non-federal funding source. <u>Consistent with TANF Purposes 1 and 3</u>.
- **Child Support Pass-through payments to children -** The state pass-through of eligible payments to children of non-custodial parents increases the family's income and supports the likelihood that the custodial parent's household income will increase, by both regular child support payments and with the TANF work program, their ability to prepare for and enter the job market. <u>Consistent with TANF Purpose 2.</u>
- Rental Assistance Payments through the State Community Action Fund Rental assistance may be provided through CAP agencies using state-only dollars. Low income families qualify if they can demonstrate an ability to maintain themselves in the home or apartment and have a shortterm need for special assistance. <u>Consistent with TANF Purposes 1 and 4.</u>
- State funded low income heating assistance Low income families may receive state funded heating assistance during the year. This is administered by the RI Community Action Programs. <u>Consistent with TANF Purposes 1 and 4.</u>
- State funded Supportive Housing and Development Services for low income families
 administered through Office of Housing and Community Development and Rhode Island
 Housing The State of Rhode Island supports housing for low income families who need help in
 transitioning to permanent housing, who may be working toward qualifying for the purchase of
 affordable housing, or who need emergency intervention to prevent the loss of otherwise stable

housing. Stable housing is a core need of families who are trying to prepare for or maintain themselves in a job. <u>Consistent with TANF Purposes 1, 2, and 4.</u>

- Governor's Workforce Board job training and education for disadvantaged youth and adults

 The RI Governor's Workforce Board (GWB) has funded a significant number of programs throughout Rhode Island which are designed to provide low income youth and adults with job training and access to employment resources. Services include job finding skills and for many in Rhode Island, skill upgrading programs. Both youth and adults are either unemployed or underemployed and are held to a means tested application process. Some programs are geared to meet the special needs of young parents, for both custodial and non-custodial parents. Consistent with TANF Purposes 1, 2, 3, and 4.
- State funded Adult Literacy Services Rhode Island has adult education programs through the Rhode Island Department of Education (RIDE). RIDE has worked very closely with the TANF Program to create contextualized learning opportunities for low income parents who are not academically eligible for much post-secondary programming. - <u>Consistent with TANF Purposes</u> <u>1, 2, 3 and 4.</u>
- Youth exiting the foster care system Intervention and Treatment Services administered by RI Department of Children Youth and Families are essential services which help vulnerable youth to move into productive life skill/management programs. Services provided to youth are designed to ensure that they avoid early pregnancy, graduate high school, follow appropriate healthy living habits, and have access to responsible and supportive adults either within their respective families or through mentorships provided by programs paid for with state-only dollars.
 - Consistent with TANF Purposes 3, and 4.
- Under the category known as short-term, non-recurrent benefit programs, funds may emanate from state general revenue, charitable organizations, non-profit, or local government resources. Programs may include a benefit to a custodial parent in lieu of child support, a one-time benefit to those who qualify for Rhode Island's Earned Income Tax Credit or to any low-income family, including those receiving some form of public support, and one-time benefits may take any form, including but not limited to, food, restoration of utilities or avoidance of utility shut-offs, appliance replacement to enable food storage or meal preparation, auto repairs, or other basic necessities <u>Consistent with TANF Purposes 1 and 2</u>.
- State-funded higher education grants to low-income youth helps families prepare older youth for careers <u>Consistent with TANF Purposes 2 and 3.</u>

Systems for tracking and managing funding streams, beneficiary education, training, work activities, and other child and families support programs are in place as well as data reporting to meet requirements outlined in Final TANF Regulations. Administrative costs for technology would also be claimable as MOE under the State's TANF Program.

2. Non-Assistance

The state supports several other MOE-funded services for low-income needy families including, but not limited to, recurring short-term benefits, as noted below.

• Short-term Cash Assistance or Benefit Programs - Under the RI Works Program, the state may implement a short term (not more than 4 consecutive months) cash payment or benefit program for qualifying applicants for cash assistance and low-income families. The state may

also provide non-recurrent, short-term benefits to low income families while TANF Emergency Contingency Funds, or its successor legislation, is available to these families.

- State Earned Income Tax Credit The Rhode Island State Earned Income Tax Credit (SEITC) has both a non-refundable as well as a refundable tax credit which is based upon twenty-five (25%) percent of the federal Earned Income Tax Credit. Consistent with RIGL. 44-20-2.6 (d) and 44-30-98, Article 30, Rhode Island taxpayers filing for State EITC who meet both financial eligibility criteria as defined by federal tax law to claim EITC, and who have at least one (1) dependent child in their family, will receive a refundable amount equal to up to twenty-five (25%) percent of the federal EITC. The Rhode Island General Assembly may legislatively adjust, from time to time, the percentage of the federal rate used by this State, to determine the State EITC amount refunded to low income working families.
- **Disaster Relief** The State of Rhode Island provides short-term non-recurring benefits to victims who have been affected by Hurricanes and other officially declared disasters from time to time.
- Property Tax Relief for Income Eligible Home Owners and Renters The State of Rhode Island provides property tax relief in the form of tax refunds to individuals 65 and older, disabled individuals as well as non-disabled/non-elderly individuals and families who meet income eligibility requirements and who file for such tax refunds. Consistent with RIGL. 44-33, the refundable tax credit is based upon the amount that property taxes or rent constituting property taxes exceeds the amount of the low-income thresholds established in law and for purposes of TANF MOE, the State would only claim expenditures paid to low income families.
- Community-Based Work, Training, Housing, Food Assistance, Emergency Needs, and Family Support and Development Programs for low income parents and children funded through state and local non-profit funding streams such as:

The Annie E. Casey Foundation, the Rhode Island Foundation, the United Way of Rhode Island, which collectively support a wide range of employment and training, shelter, food assistance, emergency needs and community development initiatives targeted to improve outcomes for youth and families in the areas of economic self-sufficiency. Only non-matched qualifying funds and services may be claimed toward Rhode Island's TANF MOE, including, but not limited to third-party and charitable contributions supporting the RI Community Food Bank's distribution of food to low income Rhode Island families. Other non-profit agencies that contribute to TANF MOE include: The Roam Catholic Diocese of Providence, the Rhode Island Alliance of Boys and Girls Clubs, and the Salvation Army of Providence.

- State-funded Programs for Youth and Families administered through the Community Action Network. Programs and services funded through the RI Community Action Network assist children and families throughout the state. These state funded programs and services meet at least one or more of the four purposes of TANF and include but are not limited to youth development, state funded nutrition programs, energy, early childhood programs, housing services programs.
- State funded legislative grants to community based special programs and services. The State legislature funds a wide range of programs and services which benefit the needs of families, children and the community. Family intervention services, truancy intervention, substance abuse counseling, transportation, youth mentoring, parenting, and other types of special programs are delivered to at-risk youth, children, and/or parents. These services meet at least one of the four purposes of TANF.
- Adult Literacy and Job Training Development funded by the Governor's Workforce Board. State funded programs which target youth as well as custodial parents and non-custodial parents are provided throughout the state for those who need basic education, GED, and job skills in order to compete in the Rhode Island job market. Such programs improve the economic

well-being of youth and families by assisting both unemployed, under-employed individuals, some of whom may be transitioning from youth training school or adult correctional institution and need re-entry services. These programs are administered through the RI Department of Labor and Training, RI Department of Corrections, as well as the RI Department of Education. These goals are consistent with all four purposes of TANF and thus meet the requirements for TANF-MOE.

- State funded Supplemental Security Income (SSI). In accord with DHS Policy Section 0402.10, Standards of Assistance, SSI State Supplements paid to children and parents receiving Supplemental Security Income. These payments augment the federally funded SSI payments and assist families who are typically unable to improve their household resources because they are either unable to work themselves or must remain in the home to care for a disabled child(ren).
- RI Works Vendors RI Works has contracted with vendors who are responsible for delivering services, managing work activities, reporting hours, and notifying DHS of required sanctions or closures. All contracts are performance based and critical for the success of the RI Works program. Vendors braid funding from a multitude of sources and are asked to contribute to TANF-MOE when applicable.

TANF Certifications

States that include TANF in the Combined State Plan must provide a certification by the chief executive officer of that State, that during the fiscal year, the State will:

The State Plan must include	Include
1. Operate a child support enforcement program under the State Plan approved under part D. (section 402(a)(2) of the Social Security Act);	Yes
2. Operate a foster care and adoption assistance program under the State Plan approved under part E, and that the State will take such acti ons as are necessary to ensure that children receiving assistance under such part are eligible for medical assistance under the State Plan un der title XIX. (section 402(a)(3) of the Social Security Act);	Yes
3. Specify which State agency or agencies will administer and supervise the program referred to in paragraph (1) for the fiscal year, which s hall include assurances that local governments and private sector organizations (section 402(a)(4) of the Social Security Act)—	
3. (A) have been consulted regarding the plan and design of welfare services in the State so that services are provided in a manner appropri ate to local populations; and	Yes
3. (B) have had at least 45 days to submit comments on the plan and the design of such services;	Yes
4. Provide each member of an Indian tribe, who is domiciled in the State and is not eligible for assistance under a tribal family assistance pl an approved under section 412, with equitable access to assistance under the State program funded under this part attributable to funds p rovided by the Federal Government. (section 402(a)(5) of the Social Security Act);	Yes
5. Establish and enforce standards and procedures to ensure against program fraud and abuse, including standards and procedures concer ning nepotism, conflicts of interest among individuals responsible for the administration and supervision of the State program, kickbacks, a nd the use of political patronage. (section 402(a)(6) of the Social Security Act);	Yes
6. (optional) Establish and Enforcing standards and procedures to (section 402(a)(7) of the Social Security Act).—	
6.i. screen and identify individuals receiving assistance under this part with a history of domestic violence while maintaining the confidentia lity of such individuals;	Yes
6.ii. refer such individuals to counseling and supportive services; and	Yes
6.iii. waive, pursuant to a determination of good cause, other program requirements such as time limits (for so long as necessary) for indivi duals receiving assistance, residency requirements, child support cooperation requirements, and family cap provisions, in cases where com pliance with such requirements would make it more difficult for individuals receiving assistance under this part to escape domestic violence or unfairly penalize such individuals who are or have been victimized by such violence, or individuals who are at risk of further domestic vio lence.	Yes

CERTIFIED BY THE GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF RHODE ISLAND:

Insert date here: _____

(Document provided to ACF)_

Daniel J. McKee

ATTACHMENT A

RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES RULE AND REGULATIONS

RHODE ISLAND WORKS PROGRAM

STANDARDS OF ASSISTANCE

Payment to eligible families is made semi-monthly. The conversion of monthly dollar amounts to semimonthly payment amounts is done automatically by RIBridges.

Plan Size	Cash Assistance Monthly Standard	Cash Assistance Semi-Monthly Amount
1	\$425.00	\$212.50
2	\$584.00	\$292.00
3	\$721.00	\$360.50
4	\$825.00	\$412.50
5	\$929.00	\$464.50
6	\$1,033.00	\$516.50
7	\$1,137.00	\$568.50
8	\$1,241.00	\$620.50
9	\$1,345.00	\$672.50
10	\$1,449.00	\$724.50
11	\$1,553.00	\$776.50
12	\$1,657.00	\$828.50
13	\$1,761.00	\$880.50
Add for each person over 13	\$104.00	\$52.00

Subsidized Housing Adjustment Effective July 1, 2021, (see R.I. Gen. Laws § 40-5.2-10, as amended by Article 13), the subsidized housing adjustment has increased for RI Works recipients. With the increase to this adjustment, the RI Works payment standard is reduced by sixty-five dollars (\$65.00) for any family residing in subsidized housing.