RHODE ISLAND GOVERNMENT REGISTER PUBLIC NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

Title of Rule:	Child Care Assistance Program Rules and Regulations (218-RICR-20-00-4)
Rule Identifier:	218-RICR-20-00-4
Rulemaking Action:	Proposed Amendment

Important Dates:

Date of Public Notice: May 30, 2025 End of Public Comment: June 29, 2025

Rulemaking Authority:

RIGL 42-12-23

Summary of Rulemaking Action:

This update aligns the regulation with the 2024 CCDF Final Rule, which requires states to pay child care providers based on enrollment not attendance. Additionally, Rhode Island has been out of compliance with the requirement that child care certification periods must be no less than 12 months, as noted in monitoring feedback from 2023. This amendment addresses both compliance issues, removes the restriction limiting CCAP for College eligibility to associate or bachelor's degrees, and updates outdated language. The changes are as follows: Removed the limit of Associate's Degree and Bachelor's Degree from CCAP for College language throughout regulation.

Changed all references of twelve (12) month certification period to twenty-four (24) months throughout regulation

Changed age of infant from one (1) week to six (6) weeks throughout regulation Renumbered sections as needed

Technical revisions as needed

§ 4.1.2(B)(1), §4.2(A)(18), §4.3.1(A)(1)(a)(2)-Added "but under age fourteen (14)" § 4.2(A)- Removed definitions of "Non temporary change in status" and "temporary change in status"

§ 4.2(A)(16)-Added definition of "cyber security event"

§ 4.2(A)(49)- Added "at recertification"

§ 4.3.1(Å)(1)(a)(2)- Added "the age of fourteen (14) or until recertification"

§ 4.4.3(B)(2)-removed language regarding temporary cessation of work, training, education

§4.5.2(A)(1)-Updated language, Removed language regarding RIW full family sanction

§ 4.6.1-Updated language regarding treatment of assets

§ 4.6.1(C)(4)(a)-Updated language regarding Approval Notice

\$ 4.6.2 (A)(4)-Added "public" to Rhode Island Institute of Higher Education

§ 4.6.4- Removed language regarding "temporary change of status" and "nontemporary change of status"

§ 4.6.4(A)(2)- Added "or recertification"

 \S 4.6.4(A)(2)(d)-Changed half time to three quarter time

§ 4.7.2(A)(4)-Updated citation

§ 4.7.2(A)(6)(c)-Added "cyber security events"

§ 4.11.5(F)-Updated citation

§ 4.8.1(E)(2)(a)-Updated citation

§ 4.11.2(2)(b)-Removed language regarding establishing DHS authorized payment rate

§ 4.11.3(A)(1)-Changed "Approved Provider Introductory Training" to ""CCAP Orientation'

§ 4.11.5(A)-Added "pays providers based on enrollment and"

§ 4.11.5(C)(3)- Added "cyber security events"

§ 4.11.5(E)-Changed "CPD" to "CCAP approved"

§ 4.11.5(F)-Updated citation

§ 4.11.6(C)-Changed sixty (60) days to ninety (90) days

§ 4.11.6(D)(2)-Updated language
§ 4.11.8(F)-Removed language regarding QRIS
§ 4.11.9(B)-Added "participation", Removed language regarding QRIS

Additional Information and Public Comments:

All interested parties are invited to request additional information or submit written or oral comments concerning the proposed amendment until June 29, 2025 by contacting the appropriate party at the address listed below:

Tara Borges Department of Human Services Office of Policy Analysis, Research and Development Hazard Building # 74, 41 West Road, 1st floor Cranston, RI 02920 DHS.PolicyFeedBack@dhs.ri.gov

In accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-35-2.8, an oral hearing will be granted if requested by twenty-five (25) persons, by a governmental agency or by an association having at least twenty-five (25) members. A request for an oral hearing must be made within ten (10) days of the publication of this notice.

Regulatory Analysis Summary and Supporting Documentation:

The Child Care Assistance Program is designed to improve child welfare and provide low-income children access to care in a time where they need it most. This amendment will allow more Rhode Island families to be eligible for the CCAP program, therefore providing safe and affordable child care to working families and families that are involved in an approved education or training program.

For full regulatory analysis or supporting documentation contact the agency staffperson listed above.